Header Ad Module

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building new homes as rental properties - worth it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building new homes as rental properties - worth it?

Hello all.

I am fairly new to property investing. Thinking of buying a 800m2+ section in Auckland (e.g. Henderson), subdivide and build two rental homes.

The aim is to get at at least 15% equity on the handover date and 5% yield (happy to leave the capital gain to the market to decide)

Can experienced investors share their thoughts on advantages, disadvantages (including potential pitfalls)?

Many thanks

not with the current criminally high cost of building. 2800 -3200/m2.. you will never make 5 % on a new build in henderson if you account for the cost of subdivision + build costs.

Comment

Your main problem is buying your 800sqm section and subdividing. You will pay far too much for that right now to make your idea work I think. Need to be doing that early boom or during a slump to be safe.

Comment

What MIGHT work is to find a section you can build a home and income on. Less costs and better final yields. Still hard to find the site without paying too much.

Comment

Thank you Webhostienz and Damap. Is there any positives at all with the new builds (other than it will be new)?

Should the cost of new builds same for rental and owner properties? is there a strategy to minimize the new build cost for rentals (without affecting the capital gain)?

If the prospects of new builds for the rentals are that bleak, what does that mean to real estate investing in Auckland in the long-term?

Comment

my views are based only on my recent experience with building new.