Regional Investment - next step?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Regional Investment - next step?

I'll soon be ready to take my next step in building my portfolio. I'm priced out of the 'biggies' so am looking to the regions.
    So far I'm considering:
    Southland - Gore/Invercargill/Mataura - popular due to no SIT fees
    Palmy - steady market/upward movement
    Wanganui - rental shortages
    Rotorua - already have a property here that I can relocate another full-sized house onto. Harder to get finance, though.
    Kawerau - have heard things about becoming popular again

Which of the above, in your opinion, would be my best bet? Or is there an excellent alternative that I've missed.

Looking to buy and hold and aim is cashflow. Capital gains would be nice, but not my motivator.
    My blog. From personal experience.
    http://statehousinginnz.wordpress.com/

I'm no expert on the Southland market but Invercargill would be my bet if aiming to invest in Southland- a larger centre, less likely to rely on one industry (e.e. dairying) than smaller service centres such as Gore or Mataura. Prior to the "free fees" scheme you couldn't give property away down there, well almost.

Craig

Comment

Of those Palmy or Rotorua. Wanganui population declining, Kawerau, Seriously?, Southland, seriously? :-)

Comment

Originally posted by Bobsyouruncle View Post
        Kawerau, Seriously?, Southland, seriously? :-)
        Until recently, I would have agreed with you. But I've heard whispers of change in the air. Hence putting it out there.

Comment

Unless there is toxic waste being put into the water supplies in every other town I just don't believe it :-).

Comment

Rotorua, Palmy. I would also think about Napier. I am actually doing a free presentation in Penrose on Thursday, about Napier if anyone is interested. http://www.mortgagesonline.co.nz/buy...-presentation/
            Hamish Patel | ph: 09 625 4693 | mob: 021 625 693
            My Website