Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• positive gear

hi guys,

i am new to property investment. to define a deal is "positive gear" or not, should i include the WHOLE mortgage payment (principal plus interest) into the expense (of course, with other e.g. rate, insurance etc), or just the mortgage interest? my opinion is the whole payment. cheers,

A
    A8

Hi A, yes that is correct - you use the full amount.
    There are several ways that investors use to determine if a property purchased is positive, neutral or negatively geared.
    There is no right or wrong way, but my opinion on it is that I don't take into account any depreciation. Some investors will even get inflated chattel valuations, and delude themselves into thinking they now own positive cash flow properties because of a tax break at the end of the year.
    I also don't do the calculation on the full price of the property, but only on the mortgage. Example - if you pay $160,000 for a property and use 20% as a deposit that you have saved, your mortgage is $128,000. I would work out the rent received (over 52 weeks) compared to all expenses - mortgage on P & I loan, rates, insurance and maintenance. If the latter is more - it is still negatively geared, if it is less, it is positively geared. Other investors use the full purchase price, rather than just the mortgage - which is correct if you are also borrowing the deposit.

Regards
    Graeme Fowler
    Facebook Property Chat Group NZ
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/340682962758216/

Comment

Hi Orion,

If you use only the mortgage portion in your cashflow analysis, do you also need to look at cash on cash to provide you with a better balance? By injecting a lot of your own cash, it is always possible to make any deal cashflow positive but end up with a very poor return on the investment of your own money.

Comment

Orion,