Question on Home & Income

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on Home & Income

Hi all, I'm new to the game... I'm looking at a home & income property in Auckland. Upstairs is 2 bedroom with kitchen. Downstairs 3 bedroom with another kitchen.

With Auckland City Council, I think having 2 kitchens is not legal and the agent suggested if I changed the upstairs kitchen to a 'kitchenette' - Then it'll be legal. My intention is to rent both flats out separately...

I don't know too much about properties (yet). So I was hoping someone from this forum can help me with this....

Hi newbieinvestor

Does the 2 properties have separate power meters? If not I believe it can be reasonably expensive to do. Do they have separate water metres? I also think there needs to be a fire proof floor between the 2 properties if it does not already have one.

I am sure other people who have done this will be able to elaborate further.

Good luck

Comment

If it ain't legal I wouldn't touch it. You could experience problems with insurance & the council...
      Need a website or anything to do with online marketing? Visit Christchurch Web Design.

Comment

Check with the council.... but to make it into a kitchenette probably means removing the stove/oven, I would think. If that is the case, check to see if you can then have one of those small bench-top electric elements (like you find in some motels).

It could always be rented as a single-tenancy house - but target it at extended families (ie a family with elderly parents who want to live with the family), or a family with old kids still living at home, or two couple/small families who wish to share, or someone that runs a small business from home....

Admittedly, the rent of renting out a large place probably won't be as high as renting them separately - but it's still an option.
        Lisa

Comment

Originally posted by BusyLizzy View Post