To Invest or not to Invest

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To Invest or not to Invest

A long story short, the last few years I've been working overseas, but have savings of around $90k (+ $30k in kiwisaver) that I've watched sit dormant in term deposits etc. I'll be coming back to NZ to work in Gisborne for 1 year, before likely heading back overseas for another stint.

I have the option of buying a property in Gisborne, where prices are still within the range of my deposit and single income, live in the house while I'm there and then rent it out when I leave. Or the other option to just leave the money in bank deposits etc. where, at the moment, I'm effectively losing money, until I settle in NZ permanently.

Property investment is my long term goal (am currently a builder by trade) and I would appreciate any opinions or ideas that anyone could throw at me?

I'd do it. Go hard on the mortgage while you are there. BUY A RENTAL PROPERTY AND NOT A FAMILY HOME :-)
    Free online Property Investment Course from iFindProperty, a residential investment property agency.

Comment

If I could work NOT in a big city, ie I had another career, id be living in a smaller city and buying too.

Keep in mind Auckland median house price down turn and plateau and the very real potential for a major dip in the market, perhaps try mitigating your risks and find a property that will take a substantial lower price than asking.