Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Method of sale question?

Hi
    My late uncle has 2 property that the Public Trust are just about to try and sell on behalf.
    We have been asked to chose our preferred Method of sale.

I believe the property's are 2 adjoining 2 bed units in Barbadose St Christchurch.

So which of these methods would you chose given today's current market in Christchurch?

1...general listing with real estate agent

2...Sole Agency with..."any one you guys recommend right now in Christchurch?...for a period of...."how many days"

3...Auction

4...Tender

Thanks
    Richard

I'm no expert, so take the below how you please.

It all depends what you want. Quick sale? Top dollar? Not fussed?

Auctions turn some people off, but generally get you the top dollar there and then. And have the added benifit of a possible sell date.

If not in a hurry, list it with an agent (sole or otherwise) & let them do the leg work. Find a realistic price you are happy with & wait.

Never done a tender, again might turn some people off.

Personally I like to have an idea of price when looking at something so I can do my figures. Auctions and such you usually get a BS figure from the agent.

Hope that helps a little.

Comment

What is the approximate age and condition of the two units in question?

The Christchurch market is unlike any other market in NZ right now, especially if we're talking about older units. If you have a look at Trademe, you will find there are 187 sale listings for 2 bedroom units in Christchurch and it's fair to say that some have been on for an awfully long time - The oldest listing dates back to Wednesday 18 March 2015!!!