Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6 Year lease

Hi All,

Im looking at a commercial lease for our company and the owner through his agent is adamant on it being a 6 year lease.

Im a complete newbie with Commercial but is this normal?

Thought maybe a 2 by 2 or a 3 by 3 year term with right to renew would be more common?

Any insight would be appreciated!!

Cheers

Yeah sometimes owners demand longer leases. And 6 years is not that uncommon.

But of course you don't have to take it.

If you want a shorter lease term can you go elsewhere?
    Squadly dinky do!

Comment

Hi Murph

Everything in a lease is negotiable, including the length of the term. I usually let tenants decide what suits them (unless it's something such as one-year). I've had small operators on two-year terms, and international tenants on 5-year terms. Six years would be preferable to me, but I let the tenant choose or we negotiate.

Choose the term you want, but bear in mind:

1. What is negotiating strength of the owner? Is it in a high-demand position, is the rent very competitive, is it a desirable building in terms of fit out and it is new, seismically strengthened etc. All these will make the owner's demand for a 6-year term stronger.

2. Your negotiating position could be stronger if the building has been vacant for a long time, and the owner may want it leased quickly.

Negotiate for the term you want. For example, if the owner wants a 6-year term, then suggest only rent reviews every three years instead of two, or ask the owner for a rent-free period of 6 months, or a fit out at the owner's cost. You don't know whether you will get something if you don't ask. In the end, you may have to walk away if it's not what you want.