• Login:
Welcome, Register Here
follow PropertyTalk on facebook follow PropertyTalk on twitter Newsletter follow PropertyTalk on LinkedIn follow PropertyTalk on facebook

Default What is the value of a resource consent?

Hi all,

True Freshie, first post!

I have 2 townhouses on the North Shore that I am thinking of selling in about 6-8 months time (knock off large % of those damned mortgages). I can just sell as-is, but from discussions with a couple of architects and planners know that the site could be redeveloped to hold 4x decent quality townhouses. I am not a developer and don't want to be, but am exploring the option of commissioning / doing all the design and resource consent, and then market it to developers as a "build ready" package. General advice seems to be that this would be worthwhile, but given that the all-up costs of doing so seem to be getting close to $100k, I am trying to get a better feel how much "value" this would add from a developers perspective (and therefore is it worth the risk to incur the up-front costs). I am also looking to try and find a couple of developers to have this conversation with, but thought would tap into the collective wisdom here as well

Thanks in advance!

I used to do this for a living prior to the GFC. In my case it was simply a case of buying well and factoring in the increased value against costs so it was quite easy. For example buy a subdivisible property for 500K. Spend 100K on it. I now had 2 sections worth 800K so could sell for mid 7's and everybody was happy.
    Your case is a little more complex as you already own the deal. Given the current lending environment I would tend to not bother and just sell them. The days of devs paying moon beams are over, temporarily anyway, until the Reserve Bank frees up some lending. But to help you work it out a simple formula is: