Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Iron roof replacement recommendation!

Hi Guys,

I have an IP in south Auckland and we want to replace our old roof in few months time. It is a Iron roof. Could someone please recommend me a good roof replacement business/contractor in Auckland? It would be great if you can also provide me with an estimate figure for a 90sqm house based on your experiences.

By the way, can this cost be shown as an expense in my tax returns or will it come as a development expense?

Hello Im new at this too. From what I understood its best to choose a NZ steel product and it seems coloursteel or colourcote are the 2 market leaders. With tradies being so scarce I think you should avoid seperate purchase and installation. Maybe see who the retailers for these products are in your area and make sure the quote is for roof and installation. Good Luck!

Comment

Originally posted by aucklandn81 View Post
      By the way, can this cost be shown as an expense in my tax returns or will it come as a development expense?
      Depends!
      If you have had the place for 20 years then it is probably an expense.
      If you have just purchased it then you need to capitalise the cost.

Comment

Your builder should do this for you (I assume its for your new build) or a roofer will source the product and do the install.
        Get a few quotes! Had a big 2-storey house in Wellington done and quotes were between 15K - 25K for the same product/timeframe. If you get an individual you can go lower, cost + x% etc. I went through a roofing company.

Originally posted by Jellybean View Post