Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rent increase

Hi all,

(newbie here, apologies if the question is silly or has been posted before)

Is it common for the property manager to increase rent without consultation?
    I texted one of the property managers in March and he advised that he would let me know once his inspector gets back to him, then no word... I assume he's left.
    So I contacted the other property manager in July and she advised that they had increased rent by 5% in May, due to kick in in July.
    Which was a bit of a surprise, as there was no consultation whatsoever.

Is this common, or are they taking liberties?

Also, the water situation.
    Should the landlord (not me unfortunately, I'm just acting on behalf) pay for the water bill (deducted out of the rent) in month 1, and have it refunded by the tenant in month 2? (this is the fixed portion) How do you handle yours?

Cheers
    Last edited by cecile; 13-07-2015, 05:37 PM.

Hi Cecile,

Regarding the water question - Landlords are responsible for paying for the fixed water charges. The Landlord can choose to pay for the volumetric water charges or they could pass this over to the tenants.

Regarding the property manager increasing rent without consultation - I would not have expected this to happen and keen to hear if this is the norm or not as I property manage all my investments.
    www.PropertyMinder.co.nz
    # Property Management
    # Ad Hoc Tenancy Services / Rental Inspections / Terminations and Notices

Comment

If you pay the bucks to the PM you should expect them to get you the best return they can. That's their job. I suppose if an owner has specifically asked to be consulted then that should happen.

I would be more concerned if the PM did not regularly review rent against market rates.

Comment

You're upset the PM increased the rent?
        <there's something wrong with your point of view>

Comment