Header Ad Module

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Property trader and property investor at the same time.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Property trader and property investor at the same time.

Hi guys, i need some advise, i am currently a property trader,but i want to buy some properties for investment.

Talking to accountants i was told if i do that, my properies will become tainted.

I was wondering what would be the best structure to hold the investment properties under, for example a family trust, or trading trust, so the relationship test does not apply.

I wonder why i cannot be a property trader for some properties and investment property for others, as it is easy to distinguish what property makes a good long term investment and what property makes a good trade.

I was thinking if hold my investment properties under one company and the trading ones under my legal name,without being tainted, but please if anyone has some experience,will be really appreciated,thanks very much.

Tainting is easily managed as many people do it.

1 - Use separate entities. The long term holding company should be the stable well protected one.

2 - Document, document, document - You need to prove why you bought that house to hold etc.

3 - Time is your friend - If you are holding for 10+ years things get easier but if you have to sell one of your holds earlier have a very good reason (see comment 2)

Traders earn their income by selling which they repeat regularly (so pay tax on sale proceeds), investors earn their income from rents (so pay tax on positive cash-flow). If an investor sells and sees capital gain that is not seen as income currently as no CGT so long as it is not repeated regularly. You need to clearly show your intent on each purchase if doing both.
    Plan and invest wisely - You only get one life so make the most of it!

Comment