• Login:
Welcome, Register Here
follow PropertyTalk on facebook follow PropertyTalk on twitter Newsletter follow PropertyTalk on LinkedIn follow PropertyTalk on facebook
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Low Yield Property + Capitial Gain + Negative Gearing Questions

Hi

I am new to PI. I understand the importance of getting properties with a reasonable yield. However, what about the following scenario;

• Buy a property with a yield at 6.5 - 7%, but in an area that I anticipate to experience capital gain.
    • The loan size is small enough to be managed by my income, even if interest rates rise to 8 - 9%.
    • The property will either provide very low profits or potentially become negatively geared for the first year.
    • After the first year, can you recalculate the yield as your loan has reduced?
    • Can you use the negatively geared property for tax deductions?

Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by rawrree View Post
    Hi

I am new to PI. I understand the importance of getting properties with a reasonable yield. However, what about the following scenario;

• Buy a property with a yield at 6.5 - 7%, but in an area that I anticipate to experience capital gain.
    • The loan size is small enough to be managed by my income, even if interest rates rise to 8 - 9%.
    • The property will either provide very low profits or potentially become negatively geared for the first year.
    • After the first year, can you recalculate the yield as your loan has reduced?
    • Can you use the negatively geared property for tax deductions?

Cheers
    Hi Rawrree

Your strategy is probably used by 90% of investors out there, and it has been done in the past few decades if not longer! So there's no problem in that.

Negative gearing is why LAQC and LTC exist, so there are plenty of investors doing it!

If you can buy 1 property per year, then that's really good!

The things you need to watch out for are:
    1) make sure you are buying in a caital gain area, ie main centres