• Login:
Welcome, Register Here
follow PropertyTalk on facebook follow PropertyTalk on twitter Newsletter follow PropertyTalk on LinkedIn follow PropertyTalk on facebook

View Poll Results: Do you (LL) clean the outside of the windows in residential tenancies?

Voters
11. This poll is closed
  • Yes

1 9.09%
  • No

6 54.55%
  • Laughing too hard to select an option

4 36.36%
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default What is the definition of "reasonably clean and tidy"?

I've been left extremely upset after an inspection today, and I'm trying to put together what I can do about it.

I've been renting my property in Henderson, Auckland for more than three years with no problems, but today during an inspection my landlord absolutely flipped his lid!

He told me that my house was "f***ing filthy" and yelled at me for a good ten minutes before I ended up having to practically throw him out of my house. I don't understand, because my house was more than reasonably clean and tidy. More weird is the fact that it was cleaner than the last time he did an inspection.

He complained because:
    - There was dust on the skirting boards.
    - The oven hasn't been cleaned for a while.
    - The outside of the windows hasn't been washed for a while.

It's the middle of winter, and my entire household works full time! I don't know how he expects us to be outside in this freezing, stormy weather getting soaking wet and catching a cold cleaning the windows, and we don't even use the oven.

I feel really upset by the whole thing. He even went through my cupboards and reamed me out over a 'grease stain' underneath one of my clean teacups. How dare he! Is he even allowed to go through my cupboards??

He's never done this before. I just don't know what to do. When he was yelling at me he told me that I have no legal grounds to stand on, and that I should just hand in my notice and get out. I've never even missed a single rental payment, and we always pay our water rates on time.