No announcement yet.

Commercial 'warehouse' to also live in?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commercial 'warehouse' to also live in?

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, just registered a couple of minutes ago!

I have an opportunity to buy a commercial building, it's like a warehouse. I'm considering to buy it for my family business, but also to live in it.

Any gotchas? E.g.: do councils usually allow that? Obviously I will have to do some renovation to make the place comfy.

Thanks,
    Jack

I am not an expert in this area, but you more likely will need building permits, zoning variance, Certificate of Occupancy and etc. I recommend you to consult with professionals. Oh, you might also need an architect as well to renovate your warehouse into residential property. I googled around and found this http://freshome.com/2011/10/20/old-w...ar-urban-home/. The couple renovated a warehouse into a family home. It looks so amazing!

Comment

The landlord may help you out with the costs but the time council takes could be more an issue
      Profiting from Property, not People

Want free help on taking your portfolio to the next level?

Comment

The cost of electricity is one gotcha that many folk get caught by.....rates for power tend to be considerably higher for commercial than for domestic

Comment

There are pros and cons. Some aspects depend on
          how rabid the local bureaucrats are.

There are lots of situations like these. If it's no too
          obvious (even largely concealed) then a blind eye is
          usually used. I've seen people knock up what might
          be called partitioned areas in pack houses to use for
          residential reasons. Most are not indefinite, of course.

I've also seem people put up 'sheds,' with facilities,
          on farm or lifestyle lots, then move in for a few years
          while they build a house.

The electricity thing can cut both ways. I.e. no hot
          water 'blackouts.'

Comment