• Login:
Welcome, Register Here
follow PropertyTalk on facebook follow PropertyTalk on twitter Newsletter follow PropertyTalk on LinkedIn follow PropertyTalk on facebook
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Default Expectations from a Property Manager

I have been using the same PM for 3 years now to manage 2 properties in Glen Eden and Avondale and I am struggling to get the service I want as a non resident landlord - wondering if I am expecting too much or if anyone can recommend a PM in West Auckland who I could look at changing to.

As a non resident I really rely on the PM to be on top of the issues relating to the properties and I expect to be fully informed along the way of what had been done and why - an example, inspection report shows and issue, PM should be highlighting this to me and suggesting what to do, they organise someone to do the work, get quotes, get sign off from me (unless its urgent work in which case they use my authority to get it done and tell me afterwards), let me know the work has been done and inspect the job at the next inspection (although they are using their pet tradesmen so they should know that a job will be well done).

What I am getting is me highlighting an issue I see from reading the inspection report. Me sending repeat emails asking what is happening. Me sending reminders to get work done. Me getting very high bills taken out of the rent with no quote or notice before hand or even notification that the work is done - just me asking why the rent is short and then being told what was done.

I am also finding I have to prompt every year to get the DVS and alarm systems serviced and follow up on every request, I even have to remind them the lease is due and ask them to contact tenants to resign. The first PM I had at the company was great, there have been 3 since she signed me up and they have not been very efficient.

So am I expecting too much - or is there someone out there who will give me what I want - and if so, who are they.