Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Owner to Project manage?

Hi all

We are in the early stages of a renno, adding about 80sqm (of which half is a garage).

Adding a new garage, kitchen and lounge. Turning existing lounge into a bedroom

I understand that if I project manage it myself, I can save significant amounts

I have little experience at renovations, but do have the time and general PM experience in the IT industry.

What do you all think - is this something I should take on? I will not be working during the build time.

it all depends on your ability to manage projects, tradesmen, budgets, timelines i guess

start googling "construction project management problem nightmare" etc
    have you defeated them?
    your demons

Comment

I would talk to someone who has been through a renovation. I paid a fee for project management to the architect, and the renvoation was not manageed at all. Break things down, do what you can yourself and get help when you are out of your depth. You will save cash, and be more in control.

Comment

Thanks Marej, have you got any practical tips/tricks on this? How would you manage - a spreadsheet to break things down

Would you recommend daily meetings?

Comment

Originally posted by LevenRiver View Post
          Would you recommend daily meetings?
          Um, an alarm bell just went off.
          You're going to have daily meetings with the builder, plumber, electrician, kitchen installer, plasterer..?

Comment

Daily meetings are not required. I would sugget weekly, but be present on site much more regularly. Weekly meeting to get state of play, what is being held up, why, whose responsible to resolve - it could be a decision you need to make, so make sure you are available as the PM and the owner of the house. Be prepared to mix it up as well - at certain points you might be required to have an ad-hoc meeting in between your weeklys, and sometimes it may be not be necessary - just a catch up.

Comment