Capital Gains vs Cashflow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Capital Gains vs Cashflow

I am a novice in property investment and educating myself. I keep hearing the discussions about capital gains vs cashflow.

Are they mutually exclusive (generally speaking)?

I keep hearing "for capital gains...buy land.. buy houses on sections and not units / apartments" and "properties with good cashflow do not offer high capital gains". I am really to keen to hear from people who have "been there done that" and understand their perspective.

From what I have read, examples of cashflow positive properties get quoted as ...block of flats, units, properties with multiple income potential etc.
    Is it a myth that these properties do no offer good capital gains (relatively)?

Not sure what should I be chasing.

I have an equity of $300K and mortgage of 60K on my own house. No investment. Household income of $200k p.a.

Thanks!

Personally I don't buy into the whole low capital gain/high yeild vs high capital gain/low yeild thing.

Coastal property was in-trend and its capital growth outperformed other property classes for several years, and now - low demand, slumping prices, and no income.

I think most people agree that you'll always get better growth out of owning your own freehold (fee simple) land/property, as opposed to leasehold, an apartment/unit titled shop/office floor/hotel room etc.

I think it's a myth that flats or multiple income properties don't increase in value as much as other properties. My flats have certainly kept up with the growth in value of neighboring properties which aren't multiple-income, and infact have done much better as I constantly take steps to increase the rent and therefore value. You can buy flats in a good desirable area, expect good capital gains over the long term, and still expect a pretty good yeild too.

My 2c.

Comment