Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overseas investor quesiton.

Hello everyone.

I'm new here and like it (first post). I get to know this site from reading some hubpage articles about investing in NZ, and for many reasons I want to invest in new zealand life-time and retire there.

Pardom me if I'm not experienced at all, but I've got few questions regarding foreign investment in NZ.

Can overseas buy a property under LAQC or Trust? If so, is it a better choice for them to go under either of those? I plan to buy a property "cash" and avoid any borrowing. Will it be a bad idea in any way to have it under own name?

All I know is LAQC is good for taxes and Trust for asset protection. But what about under own name?

Sorry if this was posted elsewhere, the website has many threads as I try to read when I can.

Any piece of information would be appreciated. Thanks

Overseas investors are slightly different.

1) Can't be LAQC and no point. If you don't have any NZ income, then no point offsetting losses to it.

2) 2 main types of Trusts for Taxation - Qualifying and non qualifying (foreign). Normal Qualifying Trust taxed at 33% and must have NZ settlor (easy) and be controlled in NZ (not so easy for you most likely). A non qualifying or foreign Trust is taxed at 45%, so normally try to avoid this.

If you have family or very good associates in NZ, they could be the settlor and trustees, therefore keeping the Trust qualifying. Be very careful of you choose as trustees as this is a major decision.

A Trust will give you asset protection. So if you go bankrupt overseas, get sued or something happens personally, the Trust should remain separate and keep your investment safe.

A Trust also gives you options to distribute income to beneficiaries on lower income. Such as your spouse and children.