Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got the contract- what now?

Hi there all,

I am completely new to assignments (and property investing as a whole) yet I have managed to secure a contract which i want to assign and have a buyer- what now?
    I know that i have to complete a "deed of assignment" upon doing so will make the agreement unconditional and my fee will be paid, but what about the actual contract? Do i change the name of buyer on contract then get the vendors to initial it again?
    And what about my fee money? Does that need to go through my trading trust account? Also, with regards to the tax and gst- when do these things come out/off?
    Anyone who has done assignments- feedback would be greatly appreciated!
    By the way- this deal is for a 2brm unit in upper hutt, purchase price of 120k with reg.valuation of 180k

Thanks,

Winwin

sounds like a good deal 34% below!
    fill out and sign deed of assignment form,
    buyer pays you fee,
    buyer then goes unconditional on property
    make sure you have AND/OR NOMINEE after your name on contract.
    you will get taxed on your fee, and g.s.t will come out also, your accountant will do all of this.

Comment

Thanks chook,

So i dont need to change anything on the contract so long as i have 'and/or nominee' on there? is that what you are saying? I have my trading company name, and/or nominee on at present....
      and my accountant will sort out the rest?
      Sounds good then,
      Thanks again

Comment

winwin: You can't change the contract without the agreement of the other party, ie, the vendor. I very much doubt whether you get the vendor's agreement.