Again - another question on Apartment investment in Auckland CBD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Again - another question on Apartment investment in Auckland CBD

Hi all, I'm new in Apartment investments... not sure if they're good as many people said it's dangerous, but others suggested it's good cashflow...

Have read several articles recently including the one in Property Investment Magazine (some months ago) and this article on NZ Herald today on Cup fever could get landlords carried away

Currently I'm looking into the following deals

Studio apartment 36sqm in Tower Hill (Emily Place) for 152k (rent $300pw if furnished, BC around 1500pa).

Studio at Statesman 38sqm (Anzac Ave) for 179k (rent around $300pw if furnished)

2 beddie + carpark in Statesman for 349k (Ad didn't mention the size).

In regards to Property Management... has anyone used this Property Management Co. called 'Apartments in Auckland' - I believe they let apartments to travellers on a nightly basis. Was wondering if it's a good idea to let out to travellers as city apartments seems to have a higher turnover in tenants....?

I dont think many on here invest in Auckland apartments.

I have been away from auckland a few years now so I cant really comment. However, those rents look at bit high for a studio. Maybe it is because they are furnished? Have a look on trademe to confirm they are accurate.

I would personally stay away from studios but that is where the cashflow is (wonder why - maybe it is the higher turnover).

Have heard of Appartmens in Auckland. You will need to furnish to high standard and if doing nightly rentals, remember there will be GST and additional costs like cleaning/linen/etc.

Comment

Originally posted by newbieinvestor View Post
      Hi all, I'm new in Apartment investments... not sure if they're good as many people said it's dangerous, but others suggested it's good cashflow...