Property v Shares

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Property v Shares

Interesting article here from the Motley Fool in the UK.

shares v property

Now, IMHO the situation in the UK is a lot different to NZ in terms of both shares and property.
    For one thing, the UK sharemarket is much larger, and less dependent on external factors than the NZ one.

For another there is both stamp duty and capital gains tax on shares an property in the UK, and stamp duty on an average home would be thousands of pounds.

Still, it would be interesting to do a similar comparison with NZ data

Property Versus Shares
    By Cliff D'Arcy | 22 May 2007
    |

Habitual readers of my Fool articles will know that I am something of an enthusiast when it comes to investing in the stock market. I've been buying shares for around 20 years and it is the source of much of my personal wealth.

However, riding the stock-market rollercoaster has been a far from smooth ride. Early in my investing career, I witnessed Black Monday and the events of October 1987, when the UK and US stock markets plunged. The benchmark FTSE 100 index ended up plunging by more than a quarter (28%) in the final three months of 1987. On the other hand, many people forget that, despite this massive setback, the 'Footsie' actually finished up 2% on the year.

Obviously, as with any other market, the UK stock market is subject to periodic surges and setbacks. Most recently, we ran into a three-year bear market between 2000 and March 2003, when the FTSE 100 more than halved from peak to rock bottom. However, as this graph reveals, despite its sporadic stumbles, the value of the UK's biggest business does tend to rise over time.

On the other hand, I've also done quite nicely out of property, purely by buying a family home. I bought my first (and only) house in the dog days of late 1992, when no-one seemed to be interested in buying property, thanks to a housing crash which began in 1989.