To rent or not to rent???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To rent or not to rent???

I'm very new to investing but my situation is like this...Have just purchased my first investment property which needs about a $40 top up each week. It's in an LAQC.
    Our own home is too small for us now (have 4 kids!!). Was wondering whether we should sell our home to the LAQC, turn into a rental which would be cash flow positive by about $40 a week and move into a rental. Can someone who is brainier than me take me through the advantages of doing this from a tax perspective?? How exactly does one see the so called tax deductions? How can I profit from them? Any ideas would clear the mud. Cheers

No tax advantages

There are no tax advantages to the plan of action you're suggesting.

1. paying of your mortgage is non-deductable debt.
    2. paying rent is non-deductable debt.

The supposed advantage of renting is that you live in a place that would cost you more per month to buy then to rent ... ie mortgage payments would be $2,000/month while the market rent is $1,000/month leaving you $1,000 extra month to invest.

Personally I don't think it's a good idea..... but different strokes for different folks.

How about this for a plan.(i'm assuming there is a Mr Jane)

You form Janes property investment co ltd ... with you as sole shareholder and director .... buy a property with lots of nice deductable debt .... rent it at market rates to Mr Jane..... you all move to the new place and rent out your existing family home ...you now own 3 properties and all debt is tax deductable.

Cheers
    Spaceman

Comment

Originally posted by spaceman View Post
      Personally I don't think it's a good idea..... but different strokes for different folks.
      If I was raising kids again and needed to get bigger homes/more space. It's what I would do.