Earthquake Issues for Commercial Buildings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Earthquake Issues for Commercial Buildings

There have been a couple of threads mentioning the earthquake strength of existing buildings. Since this is mostly a commercial property issue, I thought it would be good to start a thread on it here.

I expect my building to be listed as earthquake prone (or whatever the term is) if it hasn't been already. Part of it was built in 1955 and the other part in 1963, or thereabouts.

I am no expert in this area and don't know what the councils will do but what might happen is that the councils of all parts of NZ go around and basically just look at the age of a building and whack a note on the file saying something like "Earthquake Prone." or "May require seismic strenthening" or even "Seismic strength not Established."

And notes like this could be a real barrier to selling your building or refurbishing it or what have you.

And many of these buildings may be totally fine but because they were built before a certain date, they may get tarred with the same brush. And so then it may be a matter of getting a structural engineer along to assess it and either give it the all clear or specify what works need to be completed to bring it up to standard. So lots of work for the engineers it would seem.

I wonder what sort of strength buildings have to be brought up to? And over what time? I've heard 12 years but have no real info on this.

So please post here with what you know guys and gals.
    Squadly dinky do!

Hi Dave

I have had several of these letters for various properties from Tauranga City Council, and it's got to the stage that I just take a quick look & file them.

Some of the properties we manage haven't had 'the letter' yet, but we are expecting it. Some that we thought wouldn't get 'the letter' have got it. They seem to come randomly.