Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to do credit check?

Hi

I am quite new to property investing and have just bought a rental. I am looking at managing it myself to start off just to keep the costs down as the property is only 20km from my own home (of course experience the LL side of things at the same time). I have got really fantastic ideas from the forum as to how to advertise and manage tenants but still am not quite sure as to how to do credit checks on prospective tenants!
    Can someone please advise the steps involved? Much appreciated for any replies.

Hi Bongi

Welcome to PT!! Lots of information here, so be prepared to be over-whelmed.

Go here and have a big read. Make sure you use the Pre-Tenancy Application form - it screens out a lot of no-hopers. It's amazing how many prospective tenants turn up and then when you show them this form, they suddenly "Don't have my licence, had my wallet stolen etc etc".

Hint - if a prospective tenant doesn't have photo ID be warned!! How many honest people do you know, not have photo ID on themselves???

Be careful of tenants who want to move in immediately "I'll pay my Bond with my rent each week". No. If they can't pay their Bond up-front, do you think they'll be reliable enough to pay their rent??

"I'll get my last LL to transfer the Bond to you". No. What if the last LL has cleaning costs, overdue rent etc to claim. Means the Bond to you will be short of $'s.

DO NOT HAND OVER KEYS UNTIL YOU HAVE HAD THE BOND PAID either in cash into your hot little hand, or from WINZ.

Ask for at least two references. If they can't provide them, don't take them on.

Once you have their name, DOB, Photo ID, say thanks very much but I'll get back to you. Then go to your computer and check here to see if they have any adjudications against them. I just screened a prospective tenant out using this website. Very handy.