Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Total Newbie- Here's where I am at.

Hello everyone.

I am a total freshie to property investing- although as I co-own my house with the bank I guess I have a foot in the door. I am already feeling a little overwhelmed with the amount of information (and difference of opinion) in the investing arena.

I would like to discuss where I am currently at in my life, the basis I want to start on what some of my goals are as well as few questions on my mind.

I am happy for people to discuss various points of where they think they would start if they were me. I would especially appreciate input from seasoned investors.

Lets start shall we.

I am 32. Have a fiancé, an 11 year old step son, and a baby due in December (my first). I work in a salaried position earning approx $64000, my wife to be is self employed and will be finishing work in about a month.

I currently live in Auckland and currently have a private residence that is potentially subdividable. (I am currently trying to put through council).

Its last valuation was in May at $225000, I have had an offer recently via a REA friend last week of $265000 with room to move up.

I currently owe $147000 on this property. However, I recently consolidated debts of mine including a student loan to the total value of $47000 (probably stupid? - decided to do so to survive when baby came).

I am intending to subdivide the property and sell the section to pay this $47000 consolidation. I have a buyer already for it (my dad) in a deal worth $125000 total. $100000 in cash and $25000 in equity in the property he will build on the back. After paying expenses approx $36000 and the debt consolidation $47000 hopefully will leave about $17000 cash (likely to go towards a deposit or against my current mortgage). It is likely that I will obtain the financing for this through my Dad, so will hopefully not incur too much expense and no real estate fees.