Hello and some questions regarding a purchase of apartment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello and some questions regarding a purchase of apartment

Hi, Im a newbie to this forum and I reckon this site is one of the best and useful New Zealand web-site I've ever surfed. By just reading some of the threads the members have put, have been very useful.

I used to live in NZ for 13yrs and now I am currently in overseas. I was wondering whether it would be wise to invest in purchasing a 1bdroom apartment in Auckland CBD ranged between 200k to 250k. If the mortgage is allowed, we even consider to purchase 2bdroom apartment. up to 300k. Some of my friend in NZ recommend to purchase a house rather than an apartment due to its depreciation and not a dramatic gain in capital.

However, houses in Auckland are usually more expensive and hard to look after due to my overseas investor status.

We are currently looking at one bedroom apartment at Metropolis cost about 250k. without a car park. Will this be a good investment or just a money blow in a long term? Any comments would be appreciated!!!

Hi CityBloke
    (and a warm PT welcome),
    How much do you think the Metropolis apartment would rent for?

tricky

Comment

Hi CityBloke

Welcome to PT.co.nz soon to become PT.com with a more global face.

Now your apartment, what are all your expenses going to be
      eg, rates, body corporate fees, property manager fees, interest and possibly principal, insurance.

Give us some figures so that the experts can analyse the deal for you, and then you will be able to make up your mind whether it will be a good deal or not.

As Pooomba says a good deal puts money in your pocket not take it out.

Regards
      "There's one way to find out if a man is honest-ask him. If he says 'yes,' you know he is a crook." Groucho Marx

Comment

Thanks muppet and tricky for your warm welcome and instant replies