IP beginners!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IP beginners!

My partner and I have been to a couple of seminars, are reading books and have approval for $300k. We are wanting to buy cashflow positive do-ups as I am a builder. We were in Wanganui recently and saw we could get properties that were around $100k. We would like to buy three and smarten them up a bit. We are going to join the Wellington Property Investors Association. What do you think?

Welcome Geeza.

Are you borrowing 100% if so at 100k the properties will not be CF+ve.
    How do you eat an Elephant?
    One Bite at a Time!! (Source: Spaceman)

Comment

Re: IP beginners!

Welcome to the forum, Geeza.

We joined the Auckland Property Investors Association a number of years ago when we had near zero knowledge about properties. That turned out to be a very good investment on the membership fee we paid.

Comment

don't be afraid of negative gearing if you can put it against other income..

Comment

Hi Geeza

Interesting post.... and Welcome aboard....

Cash flow positive in Wanganui is getting very hard to get.... Believe me I should know... I live there. I stole most of the good properties about two years ago

Most properties that are being sold as cash flow positive are in fact the bottom of the barrel. You can only rent rubbish to rubbish. They don't pay the rent so it is no longer cash flow positive. Also the gang problem and the white trash areas. But don't give up looking. I'll race you

You haven't said where you live.

Joining an association may not be quite so straight forward. There is a group that are currently in Wanganui that are in the throws of starting an association. Being a local group it may be the group to join. Obviously you should have purchased before you consider that avenue. If you purchase somewhere else there would be less of an advantage for you to join that group.