Header Ad Module

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Complete newbie - I would love some advice :)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Complete newbie - I would love some advice :)

I am a complete newbie to the PI game, and I would like to get some advice on the smartest direction for me to move. I'm 28 years old, earning 60K/year, no debt, and 40K saved in the bank.

I read Rich Dad, Poor Dad last week which completely changed my perspective on money and got me thinking about my financial future. I absolutely love learning, so I've read all the threads in the first 10 pages in the Property Investment (NZ) forum, a lot of the wiki, and thanks to suggestions in the newbie forum here I've gotten these books out from the library to read:

Andrew King & Lisa Dudson - Create wealth : the complete guide to residential property investment in New Zealand
    Tony Steindle - Property law : a New Zealand investor's guide
    Mark Withers - Property tax : a New Zealand investor's guide
    Peter Aranyi - How to survive and prosper in a falling property market.
    Martin Hawes - Financial secrets : the New Zealand everything guide to everyday finances
    Graeme Fowler - New Zealand real estate investors' secrets
    Martin Hawes - Property investment : a strategy for success

So my basic question is: what's the smartest direction for me to move in? My natural instinct is to learn everything I can about a subject so I can make the smartest decisions, but on the other hand I don't want wait so long that I miss out on opportunities that I could take advantage of in the current market. Are there any strategies I should pay special attention to as I'm learning? Any specific books that would be good for me?

Any suggestions at all would be very appreciated.
    Last edited by snark; 04-08-2009, 03:15 PM.

Welcome to PT snark.