After an auction- negotiating a conditional offer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• After an auction- negotiating a conditional offer

I'm a noob to the auction process and after a bit of advice. When you go to an auction and no one else bids and your starting bid is the only bid or bids don't meet reserve ,if you are the highest bid do you negotiate with the vendor? The agent said that even though the auction was passed in and we were the highest offer we had to present a clean/unconditional offer to secure the place. They would not accept conditional offers until 2 days after the auction. I felt pressured so we declined and walked away. There weren't other people waiting around after the auction either so not much competition. Great to hear what other experienced investors have done

Agent was a w*nker. As the highest underbidder you can now negotiate with the seller absolutely.
    The agent may have meant that to buy it right now you needed to make your best cash offer and they would try to get seller to lower reserve to that amount. But after that you are first up best dressed.
    I am slightly confused though, as you bid at auction so were unconditionally buying why not just make your best offer post auction?

Comment

The agent must think it's still 2016 where they could afford to be arrogant. Don't feel pressured. He's trying to get the vendor a unconditional sale - well that's what the action was for and it failed. So now is the time for negotiation. A lot of agents are going to go bust this year because they don't actually know how to sell.

Comment

You've bid unconditionally at auction. So you've made the highest offer.

I'd now be asking the vendor to 'counter sign' i.e. come back and say what they'd take. So you could put the amount you bid in writing, but no higher.

Don't negotiate against yourself by going upwards, until you've seen what the vendor is prepared to take.
        Squadly dinky do!

Comment