No announcement yet.

To Sell on or to build up in New Lynn..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To Sell on or to build up in New Lynn..

Hi there, I am pretty new to this sort of thing and i'm looking for a bit of advice for a friend of mine in regards to his property..

So my friend has a property that he has owned in New Lynn (Seabrook ave) for the past 12 years, the land is 1440 sqm with a 110 sqm dwelling on it. There is a slight decline on the land but other than that it is suitable to build on. It has been subdivided in the past and there is a neighboring property that shares the driveway. The neighboring house is 446 sqm with a total land size of 1886 sqm. The properties are not freehold so by my understanding any improvements or building couldn't be done until the neighbor agrees and additional services are put down the driveway.

Now he talked to me yesterday about a real estate agent who has been trying to push him into selling his house for the past 5 years or so, coming around with information about surrounding houses and whatnot and it seems like every time this agent comes around hes offering my friend a higher and higher price. The offers have started around $700k and have since increased to $1.2m in his hand to walk away from the property.

He has also mentioned that he has spoken to the neighbor and they seem very happy to freehold the property as it will increase her house value and generally clean up the driveway and parking areas.

What is the best thing to do in this situation? $1.2m is a very temping number for him, (his current morgage is only about 40k) he would most likely buy two houses with the money, a small 2 bedroom to live in and a rental property to make those capital gains on. Another option could be to sit on the property, maybe get it freehold and have the services ready and sell it at a later time or to build on it himself.

Cheers.

Originally posted by Enzee View Post