Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for first time buyers please

Hi everyone

I am hoping you can give me some advice as I am very new to the property market.

My husband and I have pre-approval of $480K to buy our first home. We have two children, 6 years and 2 years. We are both 40 years old so have left entering the property market a bit late. We understand that and want to make sure we buy as "cleverly" as possible.

Our priorities are somewhere safe with a good primary school. We are very willing to buy a do-up if the location is good. And we obviously want to buy something that has a good chance of capital gain, to catch up with all our friends that bought 10-15 years ago!

We rent in Howick, a beautiful big home for cheap rent. There is no way we could afford to buy it so are looking at these options:

1) Buy in Howick - probably a 2 bedroom flat or a 3 bedroom tiny house with no land. Not ideal with a family but we can handle for a year or two if we know we can then sell and move onto something bigger.
    2) Buy out West which I know nothing about... after looking Trade Me and checking deciles of primary schools it seems Green Bay is a good option? Houses seem affordable in Te Atatu South also but the schools don't seem great.
    3) Go to Rotorua where we have friends living there. Houses are cheap, we could get something nice and it would be easy. But friends say if we do that, then we will never "get back into Auckland". Which we may not want to do anyway if we are happy down there.

Any advice or guidance would be very much appreciated!
    Thanks

I think you shouldn't take option 3. Rotorua.

$480k can get you a bigger house in West, and really small one in Howick, probably a unit. But West is lacking the good primary schools. There are some good ones too but houses in their zone would be more expensive too.