Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bad investment

Hi all

I am not very experienced in property market & on someone's recommendation ended up buying a property in tokoroa in 2008 for 103k which was then valued at 110k.
    Finding tenants is quite hard in that region and I have had bad share of tenants as well and ended up paying mortgage from my pocket for a few months so it didn't feel like an investment from start.
    For past one year its been stable and presently tenanted 140/w. Rent meets the mortgage payments since last year.
    Now I want to sell it off but price has dropped to around 75k so i am not sure if i should sell it & shall i take a loss or shall i just leave it as is thinking it might increase in price one day ?
    or shall i do some reno to uplift the cv but that would mean i am shelling more money from pocket.
    Guess i need advise from experts like you.

That's >9% return on a 75k value. That's looking at the bright side.

Comment

i have mortgage of 92k at the mo. a return of 140 wk in rent for this property. so 11k equity.
      Last edited by lamborgini; 17-07-2012, 02:55 PM.

Comment

Do you have the funds to repay the mortgage in full if you did sell for less than you owe?

Just saw your last edit.
        Current equity is based on current valuation, not what you paid for it.
        Last edited by speights boy; 17-07-2012, 02:59 PM.

Comment

No - thats the tricky bit. Even if this property sell for 75k i would still have to pay the bank 17k on top.
          & i have just started a new family and we are saving for deposit for a 3bdrm house in auckland. So i wont be able to pay 17k at all.
          sticky situation.

so what would you do in a situation like this ?
          Last edited by lamborgini; 17-07-2012, 03:09 PM.

Comment

Too complicated for me to say definitively what I would do.
            However.