Header Ad Module

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2nd house, do I need a broker or is going straight the bank ok?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2nd house, do I need a broker or is going straight the bank ok?

Im a kiwi in ozz earning pretty good coin, and been spending way to much having a good time,
    So now its time to settle and try invest so when i come home ive got something to show for myself
    Anyway my question is, is there advantges of using brokers, or is it ok to go straight trhough the bank.
    Kiwi bank has said if i jump over to them, they will give me interest rates locke at 5.25% for 6 years, sounds pretty good,So what would be the advantage of a broker?? probably an easy answer to this, but im a little retarded in this field, so any helps much appreciated.
    Cheers

Broker's aren't really that necessary. I used one but for my first house purchase, but that was due to being a complete newbie.

The main advantage of brokers is they give good advice regarding where to consider builders / lawyers / reports on propertys (ie sale history). I would say your interest rate is already great so no need to worry about that.

It depends if you want the extra services for a little cost. Some cost little to nothing.

Comment

kiwiinoz,

Are you sure you can get 5.25% at 6 years? The rate and term seem odd. I have not heard of a 6 yr rate before. And nothing as low as 5.25% for over 5 yrs.

It may be 5.25% at 6 months. If you are correct and your bank is offering 5.25% 6 yrs then GO for it. A broker is unlikely to get you as good as this rate.

Shane

Comment

Hey Shane

yeah this is what he told me over the phone, it did seem a bit odd. and this rate will only occur if I bring my current home loan over from the bank of nz to kiwi bank then get another loan for an investment property on top of that...