Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on How to Find Vendor Finance?

Hi Guys,

I'm a beginner investor with little money and I'm trying to find properties where vendors are willing to, at least in part, finance the purchase of the property. I'm wondering if anyone has tips or methods of locating vendors willing to finance? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Joe

Howdy Joe

Are you aware that the banks; if that is where you will be obtaining your 1st mortgage; treat vendor finance as a 2nd mortgage and not as part of your deposit.

IE: If they require a 15% deposit from you, then vendor finance won't reduce this amount.
    Vendor finance is debt, not equity.

Comment

VF can be hard to get through the Banks. - you need a good mortgage broker to help you with this.

Te best way is to find a property which the vendor has large equity in it, it would help if you can give some deposit or get a loan for say 50% of the value.

I would recommend asking all the agents you talk to "if the vendor would considering leaving some money in? and for how long? "

It may be easier to find a joint venture partner then VF.
      New Zealand's #1 Marketplace for Property Investors & Sellers!
      FREE Access to HOT Property Deals
      CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO.

Comment

Orkibi has the right advice here. I have a sweet vendor finance deal on my PPOR - we were deadlocked on price until the agent said "How about you leave some money in the house?". After that I was able to negotiate a long-term, reduced rate interest only mortgage with the vendor which more than compensated for the price gap.

In my case the vendor was more fixated on getting a deal through at a certain price and not really aware of what he was giving away to get that price.

To cut a long story short, only the agents will know enough about the vendors circumstances to know if a deal is possible, likely, or economic.