Header Ad Module

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Painting a weatherboard house - difficult for a complete DIY novice??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Painting a weatherboard house - difficult for a complete DIY novice??

Kiwi property investors are hardcore DIYers in general. As I am a complete DIY novice, I would like to ask you guys a few questions

- How difficult is it for a novice to prepare and paint the exterior of a 1950s, 120sqm weatherboard house? (I have never painted anything before)
    - How much time would I budget if putting in 6 - 8hr days?
    - How much would the paint and preparation tools cost approx (120sqm weatherboard plus wooden frame windows)?
    - If I paid a professional painter to do the job (good job, not slap-up job) how much would the whole job approx?

Thanks in advance guys.

Shane

It's not difficult at all....it's not rocket science......doing a quality job is another question all together.....IMHO the prep work is most important and can easily take longer than the actual painting.

Time wise...too hard to guess, without seeing how much prep work there is to do, is scaffolding going to be needed?? etc.....just painting 3-4 days depending on how many fiddly bits there are.

Costs for tools and paint....depends....you going to buy cheap tools that are buggered after one house (a valid option, don't get me wrong) or quality tools that will last a life time....paint the same cheap imported stuff or quality eco freindly home grown?????

Professional painter???......really how can you tell how good they'll be before hand..... a motivated amateur can easily do a better job than a slap-dash pro, but it's mighty hard to beat a good job from a pro painter.......price isn't a reliable guide to quality, get a recommendation from somebody you trust

LOLZ....I don't think I really answered any of your questions......sorry

Cheers
    Spaceman

Comment

Originally posted by Shane D View Post