Question re: builders report

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question re: builders report

A while ago, I got a bad builders report back on a property (best money ever spent!) and have discovered the house is a 'leaky building' (though not monolithic clad) and has 100k plus of structural damage including a rotten foundation.

I'm pretty new to buying property (this was going to be my first home) but is there any law that means these people need to disclose this information to other potential buyers? It's cost me a lot of money to get to this point, so I'm curious!
    Last edited by rebeccasbrain; 18-03-2014, 10:41 AM.

Sorry, I can't answer with certainty, but out of interest, what is the cladding? I know any house will rot if water gets in over a long period of time, but am interested to know if in this case it's a roof leak, or cladding failure, plus how it's come to be that the foundations are bad? Is it timber piles? Or timber on concrete posts?

Comment

Yes there is....if they know about problems they need to disclose them.......proof is another matter.....how do you prove somebody knew something in advance when they claim ignorance

Cheers
      Spaceman

Comment

I'm chalking it up to experience myself... but I do find it morally objectionable they will try the same on someone else - and someone who might be silly enough not to get a builders report.

That's why I wondered if they are now legally required to disclose since I will be pulling out due to the builders report which I will be sharing with them.

Not sure of the structure yet, I'm waiting the formal report and I'll let you know Leftette.
        Last edited by Perry; 18-03-2014, 10:13 AM. Reason: fixed typo

Comment

Originally posted by spaceman View Post
          Yes there is....if they know about problems they need to disclose them.......proof is another matter.....how do you prove somebody knew something in advance when they claim ignorance