Mortgage when one borrower has passed away

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mortgage when one borrower has passed away

Currently I have a property in joint tenant with a family member and a mortgage in joint names, unfortunately she passed away and upon reading the bank policy, I can only takeover the mortgage if I reapply for the mortgage in my own name.

Is there a way around this? The problem is I am currently studying so won't pass the credit assessment, does this mean the bank can call in the loan and force me to sell the property?

I have no problem covering my expenses and interest until I graduate, it's just that I went back to University and am caught at a time where I cannot show any income.

What happens to her share of the property? Is it now yours? Or passed onto someone else - if so what are their intentions?

If you live in the property can you move out and rent it out? Or get in a flatmate - i.e. create an income?

cheers,

Donna

SEARCH PropertyTalk, About PropertyTalk

BusinessBlogs - the best business articles are found here

Comment

Sorry to read your comment. You are under an obligation to disclose of course and a lender is under an obligation to assist you to keep you in your home. They cannot just call in the loan. I had a similar situation with a customer last year and the lender worked with them under 'hardship'. There are a number of options open to a lender including changing term, interest only and payment 'holiday'. Best to discuss with you lender directly and they will guide you, I've always found lenders will bend over backwards to assist as long as the customer makes the first move. I wish you the very best.
      www.ilender.co.nz
      Financial Paramedics

Comment