What to put in a TT claim

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to put in a TT claim

I have a scumbag tenant not paying rent.
    It is now half way through the 14 day notice period & it does not look like he is going to pay up, has missed a subsequent rent despite claiming it has been paid, so I am preparing for a TT application for eviction on the expectation that it gets to 21 days in arrears.
    What should be on the application ?
    • Immediate eviction
    • claim for all rent due up to the eviction
    • claim for all rent due until a new tenant is found or the end of the fixed term, which ever comes first

(how does the TT respond to that sitiuaion ?)
    • cleaning cost $200 ?
    • lock change cost $100 ? its a master keyed system with registered keys
    • readvertising cost (trademe $100)
    • re-letting costs ? (showings, travel)
      How much can be claimed here ?
    • Exemplary damages (makes statements that payment has been made & automatic payment set up, but no money has been delivered, I dont believe a word he says & that his intention is not to pay the rent- is that enough grounds ?)

What else ?
    Any damage is currently unknown, I dont expect any but you never know. Can I apply in anticipation or does it have to be after the fact ?

If it comes to eviction, what is the process, who & how, police support/ notification ?
    Simply turn up & change the locks ? this could create a problem if he still has stuff in there, or is there & refuses to leave?

If I get an order of liability up until a new tenant is found, what is the process - is it back to another appearance at the TT once the dates are known ?

Unfortunately I am currently overseas so I need someone experienced to represent me / the company at the TT as this is not a job for the person who is currently acting as my representative. Any suggestions/ volunteers in Auckland ?