Header Ad Module

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Auckland Uni student housing, a good buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Auckland Uni student housing, a good buy?

Hi, I'm pretty new to Real Estate investing, and am looking for input on buying student housing.

From what I've seen, student apartments (specifically in the Auckland railway campus) offer rental returns that by far beat rental returns on houses. Are there any pitfalls to this? Is there a catch? The returns seem too good to be true.

I wouldn't expect capital gains to be on par with the rest of the real estate market, but at the same time I would think student apartments would still see some gains, and coupled with great rental returns it seems like a no risk proposition. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

imho the railway campus project is a dog. Run like hell.
    How much do you want to spend?

Comment

I concur, railway campus project is scary. What have they told you about it? or more importantly what have they not told you?
      Jarrod

'To err is human, to juggle devine'

Comment

Can you please be a bit more specific about "run like hell"?

I'm currently looking at this one. Does it fall into the same category?

The Dog

Comment

Different investment I think, is that the same one pajiison listed under 'caveat emptor'
          RE send you lots and lots of info on the lease?
          We had a look at that one but decided not to go ahead.
          The railway campus ones are advertised with what I took to be an inflated rental, they are apparently hard to fill during the off seasons. Body Corp is also quite high.
          Jarrod

'To err is human, to juggle devine'

Comment

Hearsay only but apparently some purpose built student accom in Welly is showing major signs of wear after 3 years. Combination of cheaply built and tenants who don't care or don't know how to look after a place.

Comment