Rent increase letter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rent increase letter

We are wanting to increase a tenants rent and would like some info on where to get the wording. Does anyone know where we can get a good letter?
    The tenants are on a fixed term which expires in Feb 06, do we need to give 60 days notice of the increase?
    Your comments would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    JanStu

Hello JanStu,

Read the RTA and/or speak to TS about what happens when a fixed tenancy expires and if you want to keep the existing tenants on - on another fixed term or a new periodic. Do it now, before the existing fixed tenancy expires. It is different from a rent increase on an existing periodic tenancy, which is where, I assume, you get the 60 day notice idea from.

xris
    Last edited by xris; 02-12-2005, 06:29 PM.

Comment

Hi there, Janstu,

I'm no expert, but it's my understanding that you can put up the rent as soon as the fixed term expires. Theoretically you don't need to give any particular amount of notice, although I give a month. This is one of the advantages, in my opinion, of a fixed term tenancy. The other is that, if you don't want to renew the tenancy at the end of the fixed term, you don't have to. You don't have to have a reason, you don't have to give notice (although you would, of course), you don't have to file anything with anybody. One of the downsides, of course, is that the tenant can choose to move out, again with no notice, at the end of the fixed term. That's why I always get in touch a month before, and sign them up to a new agreement. The new tenancy will be at the (usually) increased rent amount.